FIFA World Cup

Top 10 oldest ballon dÓ winners in football history – big sports news

Rate this post

Ballon D’Or

Here we show you some of the oldest Ballon dÓr winners in football history

Can you guess Luka Modric’s age when he won the Ballon d’Or in 2018? We have gathered information from Transfermarkt about some of the best players in the world, i.e. their performance statistics.

This article will tell you about the top 10 oldest players to win the Ballon dÓr in football history.

Oldest Ballon dÓr winners

  1. Stanley Matthews – Age 41 (1956)
  2. Karim Benzema – 34 (2022)
  3. Lionel Messi – 34 (2021)
  4. Yashin – 34 (1963)
  5. Alfredo Di Stefano – 33 (1959)
  6. Luka Modric – 33 (2018)
  7. Fabio Cannavaro – 33 (2006)
  8. Cristiano Ronaldo – 32 (2017)
  9. Josef Masopust – 31 (1962)
  10. Pavel Nedved – 31 (2003)

In 1956, the inaugural Ballon dÓr was awarded to English footballer Stanley Matthews at the age of 41. He remains the oldest player to win the prestigious award.

Read also: Most Ballon dÓr winners by country

Karim Benzema has won the Ballon dÓr 2022 beating the likes of Sadio Mane (2nd), Kevin De Bruyne (3rd) and other great footballers in different ranks.

It is the first time since 1998 that a French player has lifted the Ballon d’Or. One of the greatest players of all time Zinedine Zidane won the 1998 Ballon dÓr after his brilliant performance in the 1997/98 season.

Also read: Top 3 Ballon d’Or voting every year in the 21st century

Cristiano Ronaldo won his 5th UEFA Champions League title in 2017. In the same year, he lifted his 5th Ballon dÓr, equaling Lionel Messi’s record of five. The Argentine then went on to win two consecutive awards in 2019 and 2021.

Lionel Messi is the third oldest player to win the award given by the French media.

READ  AIFF FIFA meeting: Shaji Prabhakaran says AIFF focused on conducting FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button