FIFA World Cup

England Best Starting XI and Squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup – Akashera

Rate this post

England national football team

Here we show you the squad England announced for the upcoming FIFA World Cup

The 2022 FIFA World Cup starts from November 20 and the coaches have started to announce their national team squad.

England head coach Gareth Southgate has named their official squad for the tournament. His 26-man squad surprisingly includes eight forwards, indicating a clear mindset of a high-pressing and attacking strategy.

England’s World Cup squad


  • Jordan Pickford (Everton)
  • Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)
  • Nick Pope (Newcastle)


  • Kieran Trippier (Newcastle)
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Kyle Walker (Man City)
  • Benjamin White (Arsenal)
  • Harry Maguire (Man Utd)
  • John Stones (Man City)
  • Eric Dier (Tottenham)
  • Conor Coady (Everton)
  • Luke Shaw (Man Utd)

Also Read: 2022 FIFA World Cup Free Live Streaming in India


  • Declan Rice (West Ham)
  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Kalvin Phillips (Man City)
  • Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)
  • Conor Gallagher (Chelsea)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea)


  • Harry Kane (Tottenham)
  • Callum Wilson (Newcastle)
  • Marcus Rashford (Man Utd)
  • Raheem Sterling (Chelsea)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Phil Foden (Man City)
  • Jack Grealish (Man City)
  • James Maddison (Leicester City)

James Maddison’s inclusion in the World Cup squad has made every football fan happy and indeed he deserved this achievement. He has been at his best for Leicester City since his debut for them.

Southgate said: “He’s playing really well. We think he can give us something a bit different to the attacking players we have.

“He plays as well as any of the attacking players in this country. He’s a bit different from the others. I think we could use that.”

Maddison last played for England in November 2019, while Wilson’s last international of 2020 came a month earlier in October 2019.

England XI for the 2022 FIFA World Cup

Harry Kane (ST) – The British captain is the most valuable English player in the world with a market value of €100 million. He is most expected to score a lot of goals for his national team in the upcoming FIFA World Cup.

Harry Kane
Harry Kane

Raheem Sterling and Mason Mount (Wingers) – Raheem Sterling’s start to this season has not been good and Chelsea are seventh in the Premier League. However, he, along with his teammate Mason Mount, can shine in the World Cup if he is selected by Gareth Southgate.

Mason Mount
Mason Mount

Phil Foden (CM) – The 20-year-old is undoubtedly one of the best youngsters in the world. His career with Manchester City has been fantastic so far. If not in the starting XI, he will definitely be included in the squad.

Also Read: How to Watch FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Streaming for Free

Jude Bellingham and Declan Rice (CM) – Jude Bellingham is now the most valuable player in the Bundesliga. His new market value is €90 million, just €10 less than his captain.

Also Read: 5 Best Apps to Watch FIFA World Cup 2022 Live Streaming for Free

It’s a shame to say that West Ham United have made one of the worst starts to a season ever. But that should not affect Declan Rice’s place in the England national team.

Ben Chilwell and Trent Alexander-Arnold (wing backs) – These wing backs have not been in form of late, but national duties are different from club competitions. Both Liverpool and Chelsea are in rather shaky form this season unfortunately.

Trent Alexander Arnold
Trent Alexander Arnold

Fikayo Tomori and John Stones – Fikayo Tomori was one of the reasons for AC Milan’s Serie A title last season. On the other hand, we can say the same about John Stones since he won the Premier League with Man City.

Aaron Ramsdale
Aaron Ramsdale

Aaron Ramsdale – The Arsenal goalkeeper marveled last season. He made a number of magical saves for his team, so his place in England’s starting XI may change slightly.

England XI
England XI

Correction: Ben Chilwell is not included due to injury

How England could line up for the 2022 FIFA World Cup

  • Raheem Sterling (LW)
  • Harry Kane (ST)
  • Mason Mount (RW)
  • Phil Foden (CM)
  • Jude Bellingham (CM)
  • Declan Rice (CM)
  • Luke Shaw (LB)
  • Fikayo Tomori (CB)
  • John Stones (CB)
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (RB)
  • Aaron Ramsdale (GK)


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button